Houghton: “I’m infertile”

19 Jul

After years of crash dieting and eating disorders, Chantelle Houghton has revealed she is infertile as a result.

The ex-Big Brother star said that doctors told her she would never conceive naturally at the age of just 26. “I was making myself sick, thinking ‘yes I’m losing weight.’ I thought I was winning, but I was losing. Losing the chance to have a family.”

She revealed that at one point she was drinking as much as eight 1.5 litres of water a day to make her stomach feel full, and that her periods stopped for a year. The only way she can have children now is through IVF treatment, in which no results are guaranteed.

After messy splits with musician Samuel Preston and TV star Rav Wilding, Chantelle struggled with her weight, and dropped to just 8 stone. She wants her story to warn other women of the results of eating disorders, and to encourage them to get help.

Leave a Reply

